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UNSECURED LENDING AND SERVICING 

 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW  

 

AB 38 (Stone), Chapter 379, Statutes of 2018 

 

Author-sponsored.  Makes a series of amendments to the Student Loan Servicing Act, intended 

to clarify its scope and aid its implementation.  Among its more significant changes, the bill: 1) 

modifies the definition of a student loan to provide that a student loan is one made solely (rather 

than primarily) for use to finance a postsecondary education and costs of attendance at a 

postsecondary institution; 2) provides that a student loan servicer does not include a debt 

collector whose student loan debt collection business and business operations involve collecting 

or attempting to collect on defaulted student loans; 3) provides that a student loan servicer does 

not include a state or nonprofit private institution or organization that has an agreement with the 

United States Secretary of Education in connection with its responsibilities as a guaranty agency 

engaged in default aversion; 4) gives licensees an additional five business days (ten business 

days rather than five business days) to acknowledge receipt of a qualified written request from a 

borrower; and 5) provides that the burden of proving an exemption or an exception from a 

definition in the Student Loan Servicing Act falls upon the person claiming it. 

 

AB 237 (Gonzalez-Fletcher), Chapter 1016, Statutes of 2018 

Author-sponsored.  Increases the maximum dollar amount of loans that may be made under 

California’s Pilot Program for Increased Access to Responsible, Small-Dollar Loans (pilot 

program) from $2,500 to $7,500; requires pilot program licensees to reduce the interest rates 

charged on the second and subsequent loans they make to a borrower by at least one percentage 

point, as specified, not to exceed a total of four percentage points; establishes a maximum 

allowable debt-to-income ratio of 36% for borrowers who are seeking pilot program loans above 

$2,500; requires pilot program finders to be examined at least once every 24 months; requires 

pilot program licensees to perform reasonable background checks on their finders; authorizes the 

Commissioner of Business Oversight (commissioner) to charge licensees who use finders an 

additional fee, on top of the fees already authorized, to offset the commissioner’s costs to 

oversee the activities of those finders; and requires the commissioner to include finder-specific 

information in the pilot program annual report.   

SB 266 (Dodd), Chapter 514, Statutes of 2017  

Author-sponsored.  Updates provisions of the Banking Law, California Credit Union Law, 

California Financing Law (CFL), and California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (CDDTL) to 

reflect new federal lending rules applicable to members of the military and their dependents.  In 

2007, California enacted legislation providing that violations of specified federal law and 

regulations by state-chartered banks, state-chartered credit unions, CFL licensees, and CDDTL 

licensees represented violations of those entities’ state licensing laws.  In 2015, the federal 

government updated and strengthened the laws referenced in California’s 2007 legislation.  SB 

266 updates the provisions of law added by AB 7 to reflect the 2015 federal rule changes.   
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SB 1235 (Glazer), Chapter 1011, Statutes of 2018  

 

Author-sponsored.  Applies to offers of commercial financing of up to $500,000.  Requires 

providers of commercial financing, as defined, to provide disclosures about the cost of that 

financing to persons being offered the financing.  Requires all of the following information to be 

disclosed to a recipient, as defined, at the time the provider extends a specific commercial 

financing offer to that recipient and requires the provider to obtain the recipient’s signature on 

the disclosure before consummating the commercial financing transaction:  total amount of funds 

provided; total dollar cost of financing; term or estimated term; method, frequency, and amount 

of payments; description of prepayment policies; and, until January 1, 2024, the total cost of the 

financing expressed as an annualized rate.   

 

Requires the Department of Business Oversight (DBO) to promulgate regulations, which must 

include all of the following regarding the required disclosures:  definitions, contents, or methods 

of calculating each of the disclosures; requirements concerning the time, manner, and format of 

the disclosures; a determination of which method should be used to disclose the annualized rate; 

when providers may be permitted to disclose an estimated annualized rate; the accuracy 

requirements and tolerance allowances for annualized rate calculations; and the types of fees and 

charges to be included in the annualized rate calculations.    

AJR 5 (Medina), Resolution Chapter 207, Statutes of 2017 

Sponsored by the California Pawnbrokers Association.  Urges Congress to prevail upon the 

United States Department of Defense to realign its criteria for the safe harbor provision in the 

federal Military Lending Act by eliminating the requirement that creditors collect social security 

numbers from prospective borrowers. 

 

BILLS VETOED 
 

None 

 

BILLS ACTED UPON BY THE COMMITTEE, WHICH FAILED TO 

REACH THE GOVERNOR 

 
AB 2953 (Limon), 2018 

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have prohibited CFL licensees from charging interest rates greater 

than 36% per year on auto title loans of $2,500 or more.  Would have defined an auto title loan 

as a nonpurchase money loan with a bonafide principal amount of $2,500 or more, where the 

lender obtains a security interest in a motor vehicle.   

 

Failed passage in the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee. 

 

  



Page 5 of 23 

 

AB 3010 (Limon), 2018  

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have imposed a limit of one deferred deposit transaction (i.e., payday 

loan) at a time per borrower, across all deferred deposit transaction law licensees, enforced by a 

database; and authorized a new, alternative set of rules for installment loans made under the CFL 

in amounts of up to $2,500.  The CFL rules would have authorized simple interest rates of up to 

36%, plus specified administrative and late fees, but would have capped total interest plus fees at 

50% of the principal amount borrowed and would have required loans to be underwritten to 

ensure that monthly payment amounts did not exceed 5% of a borrower’s gross monthly income 

or 6% of a borrower’s net monthly income.   

 

Failed for lack of a motion in the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee.     

 

AB 3207 (Limon), 2018  

 

Author sponsored.  Would have modified the definition of a broker under the CFL and modified 

the rules applicable to finance brokers and to finance lenders that use the services of brokers.  

Would have defined brokering as engaging in one or more of the following activities:  1) 

transmitting confidential data about a prospective borrower to a finance lender with the 

expectation of compensation, in connection with making a referral; 2) making a referral to a 

finance lender under an agreement with the finance lender that a prospective borrower referred 

by the person to the finance lender meet certain criteria involving confidential data and with the 

expectation that the person making the referral will receive compensation that is contingent upon 

whether the finance lender and the prospective borrower enter into a loan agreement; 3) 

participating in any loan negotiation between a finance lender and a prospective borrower; 4) 

counseling, advising, or making recommendations to a prospective borrower about a loan based 

on the prospective borrower’s confidential data; 5) participating in the preparation of any loan 

document; 6) communicating to a prospective borrower a finance lender’s loan approval 

decisions; and 7) charging a fee to a prospective borrower for any services related to a 

prospective borrower’s application for a loan from a finance lender. 

 

Would have established two different sets of rules under the CFL, one applicable to lenders and 

brokers in connection with installment loans made with the involvement of brokers who engaged 

in either or both of the activities described in Numbers 1 and 2 above, and the other applicable to 

lenders and brokers in connection with installment loans made with the involvement of brokers 

who engaged in any of the activities described in Numbers 3 through 7 above.   

 

Would also have required the Department of Business Oversight (DBO) to examine CFL 

licensees at least once every 48 months, as specified.   

 

Held on the Senate Appropriations Committee Suspense File. 

 

SB 297 (Dodd), 2017  

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have modified the definition of a broker under the CFL and added a 

definition of lead generator.  Would have defined brokering as matching a prospective borrower 
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with a finance lender, using information provided by both parties, or negotiating the price, 

length, or any other loan term between a finance lender and a prospective borrower.  Would have 

defined lead generation as performing any one or more of the following activities for another or 

others:  1) soliciting or collecting nonpublic personal information from prospective borrowers in 

anticipation of selling or submitting that information to one or more lead generators or finance 

lenders; 2) introducing prospective borrows and prospective lenders after comparing prospective 

borrowers’ attributes with prospective lenders’ preferences, in anticipation of compensation by 

prospective lenders; 3) offering to the public a means through which the lead generator compiles 

and publishes comparison information on various loans made pursuant to the CFL; and 4) 

purchasing, soliciting, or otherwise acquiring nonpublic personal information from a lead 

generator in anticipation of selling or submitting that information to one or more finance lenders.   

 

Would have required lead generators to register with DBO, provide specified disclosures, adhere 

to specified rules, and refrain from engaging in prohibited activity; and would have given the 

commissioner regulatory and enforcement authority over lead generators.   

 

Held on the Senate Appropriations Committee Suspense File. 

 

SB 674 (Allen), 2017  

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have modified the California Student Loan Refinancing Program 

(Program) by expanding eligibility to more borrowers, covering more types of private student 

loan debt, and changing the mechanism by which moneys are set aside to help backfill losses by 

financial institutions that enroll loans into the Program. Would have appropriated $25 million in 

General Fund monies to fund the Program.   

 

Specifically, SB 674 would have expanded eligibility for the Program beyond student loan 

borrowers who have bachelor’s degrees, to student loan borrowers who have graduate and 

professional degrees, as well as to those who received associate’s degrees or degrees, certificates, 

or diplomas from nonprofit trade schools.  SB 674 would also have expanded the Program 

beyond student loan borrowers who are working in public service or for a nonprofit, to California 

residents who have been employed for at least six continuous months with the same employer.  

 

Held on the Senate Appropriations Committee Suspense File. 
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SECURED LENDING AND SERVICING, 

FORECLOSURE PREVENTION, REAL ESTATE 
 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW  

AB 1284 (Dababneh), Chapter 475, Statutes of 2017 

Author-sponsored.  Renames the California Finance Lenders Law as the California Financing 

Law (CFL); requires Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) program administrators, as 

defined, to be licensed under CFL effective January 1, 2019; establishes a regulatory scheme for 

the oversight of PACE solicitors and PACE solicitor agents, as defined; and adds new rules that 

must be followed before PACE assessments may be recorded (see immediately below).   

 

Effective January 1, 2018, prohibits a program administrator from submitting, presenting, or otherwise 

approving for recordation by a public agency an assessment contract, unless specified criteria are 

satisfied.  Among the requirements:  all property taxes on the subject property must be current; the 

property may not have any recorded, unrescinded notices of default or any recorded, outstanding 

involuntary liens in excess of $1,000; the property owner may not have been party to any bankruptcy 

proceedings during the prior seven years, except as specified; the property owner must be current on all 

mortgage debt and may not have been late on his or her mortgage more than once during the prior 12 

months; the amount financed may not exceed certain caps (15% of the market value of the property up 

to $700,000 market value and 10% of the market value above $700,000); the sum of PACE assessments 

and mortgage-related debt on the property may not exceed 97% of the property’s market value; the 

term of the assessment contract may not exceed the estimated useful life of the measure to which the 

greatest portion of funds disbursed under the assessment contract is attributable; the property must be 

within the geographic boundaries of the applicable PACE program; and the installed efficiency 

measures must be eligible under the terms of the applicable PACE program. 

 

Effective April 1, 2018, prohibits a program administrator from approving an assessment contract for 

funding and recordation by a public agency, unless the program administrator makes a reasonable good 

faith determination that the property owner has a reasonable ability to pay the annual payment 

obligations for the PACE assessment, based on the property owner’s income, assets, and current debt 

obligations, as specified.   

 

However, in the case of an emergency or immediate necessity involving a PACE assessment to finance 

a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system, boiler, or other system whose primary function is 

temperature regulation, allows a program administrator to avoid the requirement to verify income using 

third-party records, as long as the amount of the assessment contract is no greater than $15,000 in total 

or $1,500 per year (whichever is larger) and the property owner confirms the emergency or immediate 

necessity of the improvement.   

 

Provides that, in the case of all assessments (those underwritten using verified income and those 

underwritten using the rules applicable to emergencies), if there is a difference between the amount for 

which a property owner qualifies based on the ability-to-pay underwriting requirements and the actual 

amount for which the property owner is obligated on the underlying home improvement contract, and if 
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the difference is not due to intentional misrepresentation by the property owner, the program 

administrator is responsible for the difference.   

 

NOTE:  Provisions of AB 1284 were modified by AB 2063 (Aguiar-Curry; see page 10, below) and SB 

1087 (Roth; see page 11, below). 

 

AB 2884 (Irwin), Chapter 285, Statutes of 2018  

 

Sponsored by the California Association of Realtors.  Modifies provisions of the Business and 

Professions Code under which licensed real estate activities are conducted to reflect commonly 

used terms and practices and to provide greater clarity for consumers and practitioners with 

regard to terminology, definitions, and existing practice.   

 

Among the specific changes in AB 2884:  1) defines the terms “manager,” “broker associate,” 

“professional identity,” “retained,” “seller,” “listing agent,” “ seller’s agent,” “buyer,” “buyer’s 

agent,” “real property,” “single-family residential property,” “commercial real property,” “sell,” 

“sale,” “sold,” “dual agent,” “appraiser,” “listing agreement,” “exclusive right to sell listing 

agreement,” “seller reserved listing agreement,” and “open listing agreement;” 2) replaces the 

terms bureau, transfer, purchaser, employ, and employing broker with the terms department, sale, 

buyer, retain, and responsible broker; 3) adds the surrender of a license issued by another agency 

of this state, another state, or the federal government, as specified, to the list of acts that may 

cause the denial of a real estate license application or the suspension or revocation of a real estate 

license; 4) requires licensees to notify the Department of Real Estate (department) if they have 

been the subject of a criminal complaint; 5) allows a licensee to provide a person who signs a 

contract retaining that licensee with an electronic copy of the signed agreement as soon as 

reasonably practicable after the person’s signature on that agreement is obtained; 6) provides a 

means by which a corporation may continue to operate in the event of the death or incapacity of 

its sole designated broker-officer; 7) clarifies that when a corporation wishes to act as a real 

estate broker, the corporation must be licensed by the department through qualified broker 

officers, as specified; 8) deletes a provision requiring a broker employer to maintain a copy of 

the license of any real estate salesperson employed by that broker until that license is canceled or 

until the salesperson leaves the employ of the broker; and 9) revises the procedures by which a 

responsible broker is required to provide notice to the Commissioner of Real Estate regarding his 

or her affiliations with other real estate licensees, as specified.   

 

Provides that nothing in the bill shall be construed to affect a real estate broker’s duties under 

existing law as an agent of a person who retains that broker to perform acts for which a license is 

required; any fiduciary duties owed by a real estate broker to a person who retains that broker to 

perform acts for which a license is required; any duty of disclosure or any other duties or 

obligations of a real salesperson, real estate broker, or a broker associate; or a responsible 

broker’s duty of supervision and oversight for the acts of retained salespersons or broker 

associates.   
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AB 1289 (Arambula), Chapter 907, Statutes of 2018  

 

Sponsored by the California Association of Realtors.  Modifies provisions of the Civil Code 

applicable to real estate transactions to update terminology, consolidate definitions, clarify vague 

provisions, and make minor modifications to the laws relating to real estate brokers and real 

property transactions.  Among the specific changes made by AB 1289:  1) deletes the definitions 

of various real estate terms from the Civil Code and replaces them with a reference to the chapter 

of the Business and Professions Code where revised definitions for those terms can now be 

found; 2) revises the definitions of certain real estate terms that remain in the Civil Code to 

ensure parallelism with the way in which those terms will be defined in the Business and 

Professions Code following enactment of AB 2884; 3) clarifies that a person who is a trustee of a 

property placed in a revocable trust, whether single or married, is not exempt from existing law 

requiring a transfer disclosure statement (TDS) and natural hazard disclosure statement to be 

provided when the property is sold in the course of administering the trust; 4) authorizes a 

revised TDS to be provided to a buyer through electronic means, as specified, and provides a 

buyer who receives an electronic version of a revised TDS up to five days in which to terminate 

his or her offer to purchase; 5) clarifies that a TDS is not required in connection with the sale of 

any property other than single-family residential property; 6) provides that the period of time a 

prospective buyer has in which to terminate his or her offer to purchase a property after receiving 

a revised TDS begins when Sections I, II, and III of the revised TDS are completed and delivered 

to the buyer or buyer’s agent; 7) provides that a real estate agent may complete his or her portion 

of the TDS by providing all of the information on the agent’s inspection disclosure; 8) updates 

existing law to reflect current practice discontinuing use of the seller’s agent subagency model, a 

model which used to treat the buyer’s agent as a subagent of the seller’s agent; 9) provides that a 

dual agent may not, without the express permission of the respective party, disclose confidential 

information, including, but not limited to, facts relating to either the buyer’s or seller’s financial 

position, motivations, bargaining position, or other personal information that may impact price, 

including the seller’s willingness to accept a price less than the listing price or the buyer’s 

willingness to pay a price greater than the price offered; 10) clarifies that an agent’s duty to 

disclose his or her agency relationship to the buyer and seller in a real estate transaction may be 

performed by a real estate sales person or broker associate affiliated with the broker who has the 

duty to disclose; and 11) adds a leasehold interest in real property consisting of multiunit 

residential property with more than four dwelling units to the list of contracts that must contain a 

specified notice about the state’s sex offender Web site (www.meganslaw.ca.gov). 

 

Provides that nothing in the bill shall be construed to affect a real estate broker’s duties under 

existing law as an agent of a person who retains that broker to perform acts for which a license is 

required; any fiduciary duties owed by a real estate broker to a person who retains that broker to 

perform acts for which a license is required; any duty of disclosure or any other duties or 

obligations of a real salesperson, real estate broker, or a broker associate; or a responsible 

broker’s duty of supervision and oversight for the acts of retained salespersons or broker 

associates.   

 

  

http://www.meganslaw.ca.gov/
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AB 2063 (Aguiar-Curry), Chapter 813, Statutes of 2018 

 

Author-sponsored.  Modifies provisions of AB 1284 (Dababneh, Chapter 475, Statutes of 2017) 

and SB 242 (Skinner, Chapter 484, Statutes of 2017).  Requires program administrators to 

comply with the underwriting requirements of AB 1284 before they execute a PACE assessment 

contract, before a home improvement contract financed by that PACE assessment contract is 

executed, and before work may commence under that home improvement contract.   

 
Modifies PACE underwriting criteria, as follows:   

 

Reduces, from seven years to four years, the length of time that must pass before a 

property owner who has been a party to a bankruptcy proceeding may apply for PACE 

financing, as specified.  Provides that a property owner may have been a party to a 

bankruptcy proceeding that was discharged or dismissed between two and four years 

before that property owner applies for PACE financing, as long as the property owner has 

had no payments more than 30 days past due on any debt other than medical debt during 

the 12 months immediately preceding the application date.  

 

Reduces, from twelve to six, the number of months prior to the PACE application date 

during which a property owner is limited to one late mortgage payment exceeding 30 

days past due, in order to be eligible to apply for PACE financing.   

 

Allows a program administrator to consider the income of a property owner’s legal 

spouse or domestic partner, who is not on title to a property, when performing “ability-to-

pay” underwriting in connection with a PACE assessment on that property, as long as 

that spouse or partner consents to the use of their income in writing.  Provides that, if a 

program administrator considers the income of a property owner’s legal spouse or 

domestic partner who is not on title to the property to determine whether the property 

owner has a reasonable ability to pay the PACE assessment, the recorded assessment 

must include the name of the spouse or domestic partner whose income was considered.   

 

Sunsets the provision of existing law that requires a program administrator to be responsible for 

the difference, in cases where there is a difference between the determination of the property 

owner’s ability to pay the annual PACE obligation and the actual amount financed.   

 

Requires program administrators to inform property owners, on the confirmation of key terms 

call that must be held between a program administrator and at least one owner of the property on 

which the energy efficiency improvement is to be installed, that it is the responsibility of the 

property owner to contact his or her home insurance provider to determine whether the efficiency 

improvement to be financed by the PACE assessment is covered by his or her property insurance 

plan.   

 
Makes other minor clean-up changes to AB 1284. 
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SB 764 (Moorlach), Chapter 248, Statutes of 2017  

 

Author-sponsored.  Authorizes a real estate broker to use insurance in lieu of a fidelity bond to 

cover an unlicensed employee who is authorized to withdraw money from that broker’s trust 

fund account.  Provides that, regardless of whether a fidelity bond or insurance is used, the 

broker must be covered for intentional wrongful acts committed by his or her employee, 

including theft, dishonest acts, or forgery.  Clarifies that the fidelity bond or insurance may be 

written with a deductible of up to five percent of the coverage amount, but that, for bonds and 

insurance with a deductible, the employing broker must have evidence of financial responsibility 

that is sufficient to protect members of the public against a loss subject to the deductible amount.   

SB 818 (Beall), Chapter 404, Statutes of 2018  

Co-sponsored by Housing and Economic Rights Advocates and the National Housing Law 

Project.  Permanently re-enacts the provisions of SB 900 (Leno, Chapter 87, Statutes of 2012; 

i.e., the Homeowners Bill of Rights, HBOR) and makes the following changes:  1) revises the 

circumstances under which larger servicers, as defined, must provide borrowers with a single 

point of contact (SPOC) by requiring a SPOC to be provided to any borrower who requests a 

foreclosure prevention alternative; 2) provides that a servicer is not required to attempt to contact 

a borrower by telephone to explore options for that borrower to avoid foreclosure if the borrower 

or his or her authorized agent notifies the mortgage servicer in writing, asking the servicer to 

cease further communication with that borrower; 3) requires a borrower to submit his or her 

complete application for a first lien loan modification at least five business days before a 

scheduled foreclosure sale in order to be eligible for HBOR protections from foreclosure; and 4) 

provides that the amendment, addition, or repeal of any section or part of a section of HBOR 

does not release, extinguish, or change any liability under the law.   

SB 1087 (Roth), Chapter 798, Statutes of 2018  

Author-sponsored.  Clarifies, corrects, and cleans up provisions of AB 1284 (Dababneh, Chapter 

475, Statutes of 2017) relating to the PACE program.  Makes it unlawful to commence work 

under a home improvement contract or deliver any property or perform any services other than 

obtaining building permits preliminary to the commencement of work, and makes a home 

improvement contract unenforceable, if a property owner enters into a home improvement 

contract based on the reasonable belief that the work will be covered by the PACE program and 

the property owner applies for but is not approved for PACE financing in the amount he or she 

requests. 

Authorizes an expedited process for use by DBO to demand corrective actions when the 

department has reasonable grounds to believe that a person is conducting business as a PACE 

solicitor or PACE solicitor agent in an unsafe or injurious manner.  Requires DBO to issue a 

public order when it cancels the enrollment of a PACE solicitor or PACE solicitor agent for 

disciplinary reasons and requires the DBO to post the identities of those disenrolled solicitors 

and solicitor agents on its Internet Web site.  Requires DBO, effective January 1, 2020, to post 

the identities of enrolled PACE solicitors and PACE solicitor agents on its Internet Web site, as 

specified. 
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Allows a program administrator to rely on an appraisal obtained from a property owner only if 

that appraisal was conducted within six months of the PACE assessment application date by a 

state-licensed or state-certified real estate appraiser and the appraisal was conducted in 

connection with a consumer credit transaction secured by the subject property, as specified.   

Applies to program administrators all of the provisions of the California Financial Information 

Privacy Act that are applicable to financial institutions.   

Makes other minor clean-up changes to AB 1284, most of which were also contained in AB 

2063. 

The following provisions of SB 1087 were chaptered out by AB 2063 and will not become 

operative:   

Would have required program administrators who approved a property owner for PACE 

under the emergency or immediate necessity exemption to verify a property owner’s 

income in a timely manner after executing the PACE assessment contract.   

Would have required PACE assessment contracts to disclose that if there is a difference 

between the determination of a property owner’s ability to pay the annual PACE 

obligations and the actual amount financed for the property owner, the program 

administrator is responsible for that difference if the property owner is obligated on the 

underlying home improvement contract.   

SB 1139 (Morrell), Chapter 90, Statutes of 2018 

Sponsored by the California Land Title Association (CLTA).  Deletes the sunset date on the 

provision of law that provides a procedure by which an entitled person, as defined, can, with the 

approval of a borrower, request the suspension and closure of a home equity line of credit 

(HELOC).   

In 2013, CLTA sponsored AB 1770 (Dababneh, Chapter 206, Statutes of 2013) to create a 

standardized process for closing a HELOC when the home securing that HELOC was in escrow.  

AB 1770 was intended to prevent a series of problems that could be triggered when a borrower 

drew down his or her HELOC after escrow was opened in connection with a home sale or a 

mortgage loan refinancing.  However, because the process was unproven, AB 1770 was 

contained a sunset date.  SB 1139 deletes the sunset date.   

SB 1183 (Morrell), Chapter 136, Statutes of 2018 

Sponsored by the United Trustees Association.  Provides that specified, mortgage-related 

protections for survivors of mortgage borrowers do not apply to survivors of reverse mortgage 

borrowers.  In 2016, California enacted SB 1150 (Leno, Chapter 838, Statutes of 2016) to protect 

the rights of successors in interest to real property on which there is an outstanding mortgage or 

mortgages.  However, SB 1150 can lead to significant confusion among survivors if servicers 

attempt to comply with that statute in connection with reverse mortgages.  Because SB 1150 did 

not expressly exempt reverse mortgages, and because penalties for failing to comply with SB 
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1150 can be severe, some servicers of reverse mortgages followed that statute.  SB 1183 clarifies 

that SB 1150 does not apply to reverse mortgages.   

SB 1201 (Jackson), Chapter 356, Statutes of 2018  

Author-sponsored.  Updates existing law by requiring a supervised financial organization that 

negotiates the terms of a loan or extension of credit secured by residential real property in 

Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Vietnamese, or Korean to provide the borrower with a translated 

copy of either the Good Faith Estimate disclosure form or with translated copies of both the Loan 

Estimate and Closing Disclosure forms developed by the federal Consumer Financial Protection 

Bureau.  Clarifies which supervised financial organizations are subject to which disclosure 

requirements by reference to specified provisions of federal law.   

Requires a supervised financial organization that offers a borrower a final loan modification in 

writing, after negotiating the terms of that modification in Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, 

Vietnamese, or Korean, to provide the borrower with a written disclosure summarizing the 

modified terms of the loan in the same language as the negotiation.   

Provides, under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act, that if the Department of 

Business Oversight (DBO) issues an order revoking the license of a licensee for failure to file a 

certified financial statement, and if the licensee served with that revocation order files a written 

request for an administrative hearing within 30 days from the date the order is served, a hearing 

on the order must be held within 90 days of the filing.  If a hearing is not held within 90 days of 

the filing, the order is deemed rescinded.   

BILLS VETOED 

 

AB 354 (Calderon), 2017 and 2018  

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have required institutional investors, as defined, to register with and 

provide specified information to DBO regarding residential properties they own, and would have 

required DBO to submit a report to the Legislature annually, regarding the information submitted 

by institutional investors.  Would have defined an institutional investor as a publicly traded 

company or corporation, which owns more than 100 single-family homes in California during a 

calendar year that are occupied by renters and that have a total value of more than $10 million.  

Would have required institutional investors to submit all of the following information to DBO 

annually:  the total number and total dollar value of single-family homes in California owned by 

the institutional investor in each county, including the number and total dollar value of those 

occupied by renters; the total number of offers made by the institutional investor to purchase 

single-family homes in the state and the total number of single-family homes purchased;  and the 

total number of single-family homes that are sold by the institutional investor to existing tenants.   

 

In his veto message, the Governor stated, “This bill is beyond the expertise and jurisdiction of 

the Department of Business Oversight. Even if the Department collected all the information 

about institutional investors, the number of renters living in the investor owned properties and 

private sales to existing tenants, collecting the data would not stop the purchase of these homes 

by private investors.” 
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BILLS ACTED UPON BY THE COMMITTEE, WHICH FAILED TO 

REACH THE GOVERNOR 
 

SB 1174 (Stone), 2018 

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have expanded the definition of substantial misrepresentation under 

the Real Estate Law and authorized the provision of certified commercial real property 

disclosures, as specified.  Would have provided that a substantial misrepresentation, for purposes 

of the provision of the Real Estate Law that subjects licensees to license suspension or 

revocation for making any substantial misrepresentation, includes, but is not limited to the 

inaccurate reporting of, or the failure to report, any of the following:  1) any and all dues 

associated with the property, including but not limited to, dues charged by a common interest 

development; 2) taxes imposed on the property, including but not limited to special taxes; 3) fees 

associated with the property; 4) liens on the property; 5) environmental issues on the property; 6) 

health concerns or issues on the property; 7) any obligations or agreements with associations that 

create a financial impact on the property; 8) all active and current reports regarding the property 

that affect the value of the property; and 9) all ongoing or pending litigation affecting the 

property. 

 

Would also have authorized transferors of commercial property to provide a new type of 

disclosure to prospective transferees and provided that, if a transferor opted to provide this 

disclosure, it would have to be provided free of charge to a prospective transferee and would 

have to include a provision allowing the transferee to rescind the real estate contract without 

financial loss, within a specified period of time after receiving the disclosure.   

 

Failed passage in the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee.   
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SECURITIES LAW AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE 
 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW  

AB 1535 (Maienschein), Chapter 721, Statutes of 2017 

Sponsored by the Conference of California Bar Associations.  Clarifies that a corporation’s 

articles of incorporation may include a reference to a separate, written agreement between two or 

more shareholders pertaining to the purchase of shares in connection with the dissolution of a 

corporation. 
 

AB 2237 (Maienschein), Chapter 76, Statutes of 2018 

Sponsored by the Conference of California Bar Associations.  Provides a variety of different 

ways in which the shareholders and holders of voting trust certificates of California corporations 

may review the books, records, and minutes of those corporations at locations in this state in lieu 

of having to travel outside the state to the corporation’s headquarters to conduct the review.  

Authorizes corporations to make a true and accurate copy of books, records, and minutes 

available, if the original has been lost, destroyed, or is not normally physically located in the 

state.  Alternately, allows the inspection to occur at the corporation’s principal physical office in 

this state or, if none exists, at the physical location for the corporation’s registered agent for 

service of process in this state.  Finally, authorizes a shareholder or holder of a voting trust 

certificate to request that a corporation produce desired documents by mail or electronically, if 

that shareholder pays for the reasonable costs for copying or converting the requested documents 

to electronic format.   

AB 2557 (Maienschein), Chapter 322, Statutes of 2018 

 

Sponsored by the Nonprofit Organizations Committee of the Business Law Section of the 

California Lawyers Association.  Provides that, if authorized in the articles or bylaws of a 

nonprofit public benefit corporation, nonprofit mutual benefit corporation, nonprofit religious 

corporation, or cooperative corporation, all or any portion of the directors of that corporation 

may hold office ex-officio by virtue of holding a specified position, either within or outside the 

corporation.  Requires the term of office of an ex-officio director to coincide with that director’s 

term of office in the specified position entitling him or her to serve on the board and provides 

that, once that ex-officio director resigns or is removed from his or her specified position, his or 

her term on the board immediately ceases, and he or she is replaced on the board with the person 

who succeeds him or her in the specified position.   

 

Also makes a technical correction to Corporations Code Section 5234.   

 
SB 826 (Jackson), Chapter 954, Statutes of 2018  

Sponsored by the National Association of Women Business Owners – California.  Requires each 

publicly held, domestic or foreign corporation with its principal executive offices in California to 

have at least one female director on its board, commencing December 31, 2019.  Provides that if 
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no board seat opens up on an all-male board before that date, a corporation must increase its 

authorized number of directors by one and must fill that seat with a woman.  Further requires 

each publicly held, domestic or foreign corporation whose principal executive offices are located 

in California, and whose board contains more than four board members, to increase the number 

of female directors on its board, no later than the close of the 2021 calendar year, as follows:  1) 

if the authorized number of directors is five, the corporation must have at least two female 

directors on its board; 2) if the authorized number of directors is six or more, the corporation 

must have at least three female directors on its board. 

Requires the Secretary of State (SOS), no later than July 1, 2019, to publish a report on his or her 

Internet Web site, documenting the number of publicly held, domestic and foreign corporations 

whose principal executive offices are located in California, which have at least one female 

director on their boards. Further requires the SOS, no later than March 1, 2020, and annually 

thereafter, to publish a report on his or her Internet Web site regarding all of the following: 1) the 

number of corporations subject to the provisions of the bill, which were in compliance with the 

requirements of the bill during at least one point during the preceding calendar year; 2) the 

number of publicly held corporations that moved their United States headquarters into California 

from another state, or that moved their United States headquarters out of California and into 

another state during the preceding calendar year; 3) the number of publicly held corporations that 

were subject to this bill during the preceding year, which were taken private.   

Authorizes the SOS to fine corporations for violating the provisions of this bill and provides that 

the money derived from those fines shall be used to offset the SOS’s cost to administer the bill, 

subject to appropriation by the Legislature.  Counts as a violation each director seat, which is 

required to be held by a female by the end of a calendar year, and which is not held by a female 

during at least a portion of that calendar year. Sets the fines at $100,000 for a first violation, 

$300,000 for a second or subsequent violation, and $100,000 for failure to timely file board 

member information with the SOS.   

SB 838 (Hertzberg), Chapter 889, Statutes of 2018  

 

Author-sponsored.  Authorizes corporations to include a provision in their articles of 

incorporation authorizing the use of blockchain technology to record and track the issuance and 

transfer of stock certificates 

 

BILLS VETOED 

 

None 

 

BILLS ACTED UPON BY THE COMMITTEE, WHICH FAILED TO 

REACH THE GOVERNOR 
 

None 
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FINANCIAL SERVICES LAW ADMINISTRATION, 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 

 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW  

 
AB 611 (Dababneh), Chapter 408, Statutes of 2017  

 

Sponsored by the California Bankers Association.  Authorizes a mandated reporter of suspected 

elder or dependent adult financial abuse to refuse to honor a power of attorney, if that mandated 

reporter makes a report to an adult protective services agency or local law enforcement agency of 

any state that the elder or dependent adult who granted the power of attorney may be subject to 

financial abuse by the person seeking to act under the authority of the power of attorney. 

 
Clarifies that if a mandated reporter does not allow a person authorized to act under the authority 

of a power of attorney to conduct business on behalf of the elder or dependent adult who granted 

the power of attorney, because the mandated reporter suspects that the person seeking to act 

under the authority of that power of attorney may be engaging in elder or dependent adult 

financial abuse, that power of attorney remains enforceable as to every other person granted 

authority under the power of attorney about whom a report of suspected elder or dependent adult 

financial abuse has not been made. 

AB 1636 (Aguiar-Curry), Chapter 329, Statutes of 2017 

Author-sponsored.  Authorizes the Commissioner of Business Oversight (commissioner) to 

impose a penalty on any California Financing Law (CFL) licensee that fails to do either of the 

following within the time period specified in any written demand of the commissioner: 1) make 

and file with the commissioner any report required by law; or 2) furnish any material information 

required by the commissioner to be included in any report required by law.  Provides, however, 

that a penalty may not be imposed on a licensee, if the commissioner requests new information 

from that licensee and fails to notify that licensee about the requirement to submit that new 

information less than 90 days before it is due.  Sets the amount of the penalty at a maximum of 

$100 per business day for each of the first five business days the report or information is overdue 

and a maximum of $500 per business day thereafter, not to exceed $25,000 in the aggregate. 

Authorizes the commissioner to require each California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law 

(CDDTL) licensee to file an annual report with the commissioner, giving the relevant 

information that the commissioner reasonably requires concerning the business and operations 

conducted by the licensee within the state during the preceding calendar year for each licensed 

place of business.  Provides that a CDDTL licensee’s annual report shall be made available to the 

public for inspection, but further provides that nonpublicly traded persons, as defined, may 

request that their balance sheets be kept confidential 
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AB 2862 (Limon), Chapter 267, Statutes of 2018 

  

Sponsored by the California Credit Union League.  Enacts five provisions intended to modernize 

the California Credit Union Law and increase parity between state-chartered and federally-

chartered credit unions.  Those provisions:  1) authorize a credit union to invest in charitable 

donation accounts, as a means of providing charitable contributions and donations to nonprofit 

entities exempt from taxation under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3); 2) authorize a 

credit union to purchase, in whole or in part, from any source, loans made to its members; to sell, 

in whole or in part, to any source, loans made to its members; and to purchase, in whole or in 

part, any of the following:  a loan originated by another credit union, which is made to a member 

of the originating credit union, even though the member is not also a member of the credit union 

purchasing the loan, and a loan from any source, if the purchase will facilitate the purchasing 

credit union’s packaging a pool of those loans to be sold or pledged on the secondary market; 3) 

authorize a credit union that is investing to fund an employee benefit plan obligation to purchase 

an investment that would otherwise be impermissible, as long as the investment is directly 

related to the credit union’s obligation or potential obligation under the employee benefit plan, 

and the credit union holds the investment for only as long as it has an actual or potential 

obligation under the employee benefit plan; 4) delete the requirement that the board of directors 

of a credit union establish a written savings capital structure policy; and 5) add credit unions to 

the list of financial institutions that are not subject to the Escrow Law.   

 

AB 3229 (Burke), Chapter 288, Statutes of 2018 

 

Sponsored by Attorney General Xavier Becerra.  Adds special agents of the California 

Department of Justice to the list of law enforcement personnel who may request specified 

information regarding customer accounts from financial institutions, and who must be furnished 

with that information, when a crime report is filed involving specified acts of alleged financial 

fraud.   

 

SB 363 (Committee on Insurance, Banking and Financial Institutions1), Chapter 516, 

Statutes of 2017 

Author-sponsored.  Corrects an unintentional drafting error by clarifying that the CFL does not 

apply to any person who makes no more than one commercial loan in a 12-month period (SB 

363 adds the language in italics).   

Authorizes the Trustees of the California State University (CSU) to deposit money in an 

uninsured account in one or more depository institutions located outside the United States, if the 

amounts on deposit are necessary to support a program of foreign study attended by CSU 

students, a depository institution offering deposit insurance is unavailable in the country in which 

the program of foreign study is conducted, and if amounts that are not insured under a foreign 

law do not exceed $100,000 per depository institution.   

                                                 
1 The Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee was temporarily renamed the Senate Insurance, 

Banking, and Financial Institutions Committee from May, 2017 through March, 2018.  In March, 2018, it returned 

to its prior designation as the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee.   
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Reduces, from 110% of the amount deposited to 100% of the amount deposited, the size of a 

Federal Home Loan Bank letter of credit that may be used as security for demand and time 

deposits made by the State Treasurer.   

Also make technical corrections to provisions of the Corporations Code.   

SB 1055 (Bradford), Chapter 847, Statutes of 2018 

Author-sponsored.  Authorizes state- and federally-chartered banks and credit unions to offer 

prize-linked savings promotions in California.  Defines a savings promotion as a contest or 

promotion to encourage savings deposits, which is sponsored by one or more banks or credit 

unions, or by a bank or credit union trade association or its subsidiary in conjunction with one or 

more banks or credit unions, in which bank or credit union depositors are offered a chance to win 

designated prizes. 

Authorizes a bank or credit union to sponsor or participate in a savings promotion if all of the 

following criteria are satisfied: 1) depositors are not required to pay any fee or otherwise provide 

any consideration in order to enter the savings promotion; 2) all material terms of and fees 

charged by a bank or credit union in connection with a qualifying account are comparable to 

those of comparable nonqualifying accounts offered by that institution; 3) each entry in the 

savings promotion has an equal chance of winning; and 4) participants in the savings promotion 

are not required to be present at a prize drawing to win.  

States that a savings promotion is not a lottery or a raffle within the meaning of applicable 

sections of the Penal Code that define those terms.   
 

SB 1361 (Bradford), Chapter 699, Statutes of 2018  

 

Author-sponsored.  Deletes the provision of existing law, which prohibits DBO from disclosing 

or permitting the disclosure of any civil penalty imposed by the commissioner against a financial 

services licensee, unless the disclosure is authorized or requested by the affected licensee or 

subsidiary or is taken in connection with a knowing violation.  Adds the imposition of civil 

penalties against financial services licensees to the list of enforcement actions DBO is required to 

make public on its Internet web site. 

 

Requires every licensee subject to the commissioner’s jurisdiction to establish and maintain an 

electronic service address designated for receiving communications and documents sent by the 

commissioner to licensees, notify the commissioner before changing that service address, and 

ensure that communications sent to that service address may contain attachments.  Provides that 

a communication sent to an electronic service address by the commissioner does not satisfy any 

notice requirement or displace any law or regulation that requires notice to be served in a 

different manner, if a hearing right attaches to that notice.   

 

Requires the commissioner to provide each licensee that establishes and maintains an electronic 

service address with an electronic service address designated for receiving correspondence from 

licensees subject to the commissioner’s jurisdiction and requires this service address to be 

capable of receiving attachments that accompany messages sent by licensees, as specified.   
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BILLS VETOED 
 

None  

 

BILLS ACTED UPON BY THE COMMITTEE, WHICH FAILED TO 

REACH THE GOVERNOR 

SB 551 (Hueso), 2017 and 2018 

Sponsored by Opportunity Fund.  When SB 551 passed the Senate Insurance, Banking and 

Financial Institutions Committee and the Senate Floor, it reduced the minimum amount that had 

to be contributed by the California Pollution Control Financing Authority (the authority) into a 

California Capital Access Loan Program for Small Business loan loss reserve account from 2% 

to 1%.  The bill also authorized the authority to recapture its own contribution for each enrolled 

loan from each loan loss reserve account, upon the maturation of the loan or after five years from 

the date of loan enrollment, whichever happened first.  Once recaptured, the money had to be 

applied to future program and administrative expenses.  The bill capped the total amount that 

could be recaptured, based on specified formulas.   

SB 551 was gutted in the Assembly and amended to transfer authority over the California Capital 

Access Loan Program for Small Business from the authority to the California Small Business 

Finance Center within the California Infrastructure and Economic Development Bank.  This 

amended version was held on the Assembly Appropriations Committee Suspense File. 

 

SB 930 (Hertzberg), 2018 

Sponsored by Board of Equalization Member Fiona Ma.  Would have established a new division 

within the Financial Code, authorizing the creation of cannabis limited charter banks (CLCBs) 

and cannabis limited charter credit unions (CLCCUs).  Would have required an entity wishing to 

form as a CLCB or CLCCU to obtain a license from the Department of Business Oversight 

(DBO), as specified, and to comply with all requirements of Division 1 of the Financial 

Institutions Law (which generally cover administrative and enforcement functions) and with 

either Division 1.1 of the Financial Code (the Banking Law) or Division 5 of the Financial Code 

(the California Credit Union Law), as applicable, but would have provided that any requirement 

of any of those laws that was inconsistent with the division applicable to CLCBs and CLCCUs 

did not apply to that CLCB or CLCCU. 

Would have requires CLCBs and CLCCUs to obtain and maintain private insurance for 

themselves and their assets at all times they were engaged in banking services.  Would have 

authorized CLCBs and CLCCUs to issue special purpose checks, which would have been valid 

only for specified purposes (to pay fees or taxes to the state or a local jurisdiction; pay rent on 

property that was leased by or on behalf of the account holder’s cannabis business; pay a vendor 

physically located in California for expenses related to goods and services associated with the 

account holder’s cannabis business; or purchase bonds or interest-bearing notes or warrants 

backed by the full faith and credit of the state, or bonds or warrants of any local jurisdiction, as 

specified).  Clarified that entities presented with a special purpose check were not required to 

accept it.   
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Held on the Assembly Appropriations Committee Suspense File. 

 

SB 1379 (Hernandez), 2018 

 

Author-sponsored.  Would have required DBO to conduct a comprehensive study of unbanked 

and underbanked populations and moved the Bank on California Program from DBO to the State 

Treasurer’s Office.  DBO’s study would have been required to replicate the methodology and 

topics contained in the most recently available Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) 

Survey of Unbanked and Underbanked Households, but would have been required to focus only 

on regions in California and to provide greater demographic and regional, California-specific 

detail than is contained in the FDIC’s report. 

 

Held on the Senate Appropriations Committee Suspense File.   
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2017–2018 INFORMATIONAL AND OVERSIGHT HEARINGS 

 
The agendas, background papers, and videos of the hearings summarized below are available on 

the Committee’s Internet Web site. 

 
MARCH 22, 2017, SACRAMENTO, CA:  THE CHANGING FACE OF STUDENT LOAN 

SERVICING IN CALIFORNIA 

 

Large and growing student loan debt loads represent a challenging public policy issue on which 

many are focusing at both state and federal levels.  Members of the Class of 2016 carried an 

average student loan debt burden of $37,200.  At the end of 2016, 44 million Americans owed 

over $1.3 trillion in outstanding student loans, an amount triple the student loan debt owed ten 

years earlier. Although it is most common among recent college graduates, student loan debt is 

held by every demographic.  Over 11% of outstanding student loans are delinquent. 

 

On March 22nd, 2016, the California State Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee 

focused on one element of the student loan policy challenge: loan repayment.  Although the 

committee does not have jurisdiction over topics related to the causes of growing debt loads, it 

does have a role to play in helping ensure that borrowers not only understand the loan repayment 

and forgiveness options available to them, but are treated fairly and with respect by those who 

collect their payments from them.   

 

During the March 22nd hearing, invited experts introduced the many different types of student 

loans and student loan repayment options that exist, described the rules that apply to student loan 

servicers (those who collect student loan repayments from borrowers), discussed the options 

available to student loan borrowers who are struggling to repay their loans, and explained the 

ramifications for those who default.  Witnesses also addressed the extent to which they believe 

existing servicing rules are adequate to protect the interests of borrowers, and how, if at all, they 

believe those rules should be improved.   

 

Witnesses included a subject matter expert from the Legislative Analyst’s Office, regulators 

from the federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and California Department of Business 

Oversight, industry experts from the Student Loan Servicing Alliance, Measure One, and the law 

firm of Duane Morris, and consumer advocates from Consumers Union and Student Debt Crisis.   

 

MAY 17, 2017, SACRAMENTO, CA:  WELLS FARGO’S SALES PRACTICES AND 

CORPORATE ACCOUNTABILITY (Jointly held with the Assembly Banking and Finance 

Committee) 

 

On May 17th, 2017, the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee held its second 

oversight hearing to examine the origin and evolution of Wells Fargo’s improper sales practices 

and the company’s corrective actions in response.  During the Committee’s first hearing on this 

topic, on November 28, 2016, the Committee reviewed key information that came to light after 

Wells Fargo entered into settlement agreements with the federal Consumer Financial Protection 

Bureau, federal Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and Office of Los Angeles City 



Page 23 of 23 

 

Attorney Mike Feuer and identified key questions that remained unanswered about Wells 

Fargo’s actions. 

 

During the Committee’s May, 2017 hearing, the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions 

Committee convened jointly with the Assembly Banking and Finance Committee to review the 

findings of the April, 2017 Sales Practices Investigation Report commissioned by Wells Fargo’s 

Board of Directors.  Corporate governance experts from the State Treasurer’s Office, California 

State Teachers’ Retirement System, and Stanford University addressed the committee regarding 

what information they learned from reading the Sales Practices Investigation Report; what 

questions they had for Wells Fargo Bank and Wells Fargo’s Board of Directors after having read 

the report; whether they believed that the actions taken to address the root causes of the scandal 

and mitigate future inappropriate acts by employees and management of Wells Fargo would 

protect the bank and its customers going forward; and whether there are any additional actions 

they would recommend be taken by Wells Fargo or its Board of Directors in light of the findings 

of the report. 

 


