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INTRODUCTION

On March 26”‘, 2015, the federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB; the Bureau)
released an outline of proposals it is considering adopting to provide greater protections for
consumers who take out payday loans, high interest rate installment loans, and car title loans
(http://files.consumerfinance.gov/f/201503_cfpb_outline-of-the-proposals-from-small-business-
review-panel.pdf). Although the proposals are preliminary, they will form the basis for the
CFPB’s rulemaking in this area. Furthermore, once the CFPB finalizes its consumer lending
regulations, the new rules will apply in all fifty states; they will not require legislative or
congressional approval to become effective. In California, the new rules will affect over 12
million payday loans, totaling over $3.1 billion annually, and over 500,000 installment loans,
totaling approximately $1 billion annually.

Because the CFPB’s rulemaking will have such a significant impact in California, it is critical
that the California Legislature begin reviewing the proposals now, before the CFPB becomes
locked into any particular regulatory approach, On May 6%, the California Senate Banking and
Financial Institutions Committee will convene an oversight hearing to solicit feedback on the -
CFPB proposals outlined in the CFPB’s March 26™ release. The hearing is designed to help
Committee members, interested members of the public, and the CFPB understand the potential
impacts of the CFPB proposals on California consumers, California businesses, and the
California economy as a whole, The Committee will hear from the California Research Bureau,
Commissioner of the California Department of Business Oversight, and nearly twenty other
witnesses, representing a variety of viewpoints. Witnesses include consumer advocates;
attorneys who represent consumers in predatory lending actions; small and large lenders,
including one tribal lender; lenders that lend exclusively online; lenders that operate exclusively
through brick-and-mortar storefronts; payday lenders; unsecured installment loan lenders, and
car title lenders. '

Following the hearing, staff will prepare a final report that summarizes oral witness testimony
and compiles written testimony submitted to the Committee in connection with the hearing, A
copy of that final report will be posted on the Committee’s web site, along with this background
paper and an archived video recording of the hearing, -

The remainder of this background paper summarizes the CFPB proposals and describes the
process that CIPB will undertake to develop its final rule. It also discusses the choices with
which the California Legislature will be faced following adoption of that final rule.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

Short-Term Credit Products Covered By the Proposal:

¢ The CFPB’s short-term covered loan proposal covers loans with a contractual loan term
of 45 days or less. According to the CFPB, this proposal covers payday loans, deposit
advance products, open-end lines of credit where the credit line terminates within 45 days
or the credit is repayable in full within 45 days, and short-term vehicle title loans, In
California, the most significant impact of the short-term loan proposal will be felt by
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payday lenders (i.e., those licensed under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction
Law; CDDTL; payday loan law), The short-term covered loan proposal also has the
potential to impact California depository institutions that offer deposit advance products
(payday loan-like products offered by depository institutions). However, because no
depository institutions in California are currently offering deposit advance products, this
impact is more theoretical than real; in practice in California, the short-term loan proposal
will be felt almost exclusively by payday lenders and their customers.

Longer-Term Credit Products Covered By the Proposal;

e The CFPB’s longer-term covered loan proposal covers loans with a contractual loan term
of greater than 45 days, where the “all-in” annual percentage rate (APR) exceeds 36%,
and lender collects payments through access to a consumer’s deposit account or paycheck
or holds a security interest in the consumer’s vehicle.

The “all-in” APR includes all interest and fees associated with the loan, plus the cost of
any add-on products sold along with the loan, such as credit insurance memberships,
“Access to a consumer’s deposit account or paycheck” includes a post-dated check;
automated clearing house (ACH) authorization; remotely created check (RCC)
authorization; authorization to debit a prepaid card account; payroll deduction; a right of
setoff or to sweep funds from a consumer’s account; and any other method of collecting
payment from a consumer’s checking, savings, or prepaid account.

According to the CFPB, the longer-term covered loan definition includes vehicle title
loans with a contractual-loan ferm greater than 45 days, as well as certain unsecured
installment loans and open-end loans. In California, the longer-term covered loan
proposal will have its greatest impact on lenders licensed under the California Finance
Lenders Law (CFLL; installment loan law), which extend car title loans and installment
loans with annual percentage rates greater than 36%.

Lenders Are Given a Choice Of How to Comply:

Both proposals allow lenders to choose their method of compliance. The CFPB characterizes
option one under both proposals as “debt trap prevention,” and option two under both proposals
“debt trap protection.”

Need For a Centralized Database or Other Loan Tracking System: Both of the CFPB’s proposals
require lenders to verify a borrower’s borrowing history and report a borrower’s use of a covered
loan. To fulfill these requirements, the CEPB expects lenders to rely on what the Bureau calls a
“commetcially available loan reporting system.” While some read that language as requiring a
centralized loan database, the CFPB suggests that compliance may be achieved through alternate
means.

In language accompanying the proposals, the CFPB explains that “the Bureau anticipates that it

would specify criteria that would make a consumer reporting system eligible for lenders to use in
verifying borrowing history. To facilitate consideration of borrowing history, lenders would be
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required to report use of covered loans to commercially available reporting systems meeting the
Bureau’s eligibility criteria, Under this proposal, lenders would need to report to all applicable
commercially available reporting systems, but would have to check only one such reporting
system meeting the Bureau’s eligibility criteria.

“The Bureau understands that in the payday lending market, may states currently require lenders
to check a state-recognized database prior to the extension of certain loans and to report
consumer use of those loans to the same database. The Bureau also understands that, as part of
their own risk analytics when making loans, many lenders voluntarily use a handful of credit
reporting agencies that provide information about a consumer’s loan history. The Bureau is not
considering creating its own reporting system for borrowing on covered loans. The Bureau also

is not considering admmlstenng ot otherwise contracting with a third-party to create or
administer a reporting system.”

Details of the Proposals: As envisioned by the CFPB, a lender making a covered loan (either

short-term or longer-term) will have to comply with either the debt trap prevention requirements
(Row 2 in the table immediately below) or the debt trap protection requirements (Row 3 in the
table below). That lender will also have to comply with both the borrower notification
requirements (Row 4) and the cap on unsuccessful attempts to debit an account (Row 5).

Short-Term Covered Loans

Longer-Term Covered Loans

Debt Trap Prevention

Determine ability to repay before

Determine ability to repay before

extending credit: A lender must

verify a borrower’s income, major

financial obligations, and
borrowing history, and make a
good faith, reasonable
determination that the borrower
has enough money to repay the
loan after satisfying major
financial obligations and living
expenses,

A lender may not extend a new
short-term covered loan to a
borrower who already has an
outstanding short-term covered
loan from any lender, A
commercially available loan
reporting system that tracks short-
term loans across all lenders
making these types of loans will
be necessary to comply with this
requirement.

Minimum 60-day cooling off

extending credit: A lender must
verify a borrower’s income, major
financial obligations, and
borrowing history, and make a
good faith, reasonable
determination that the borrower
has the ability to repay the loan
(including principal, interest, and
fees for add-on products) after
satisfying major financial
obligations and living expenses. If
the lender is extending a covered
longer-term loan with a balloon
payment, underwrltlng must
consider income and major
financial obligations for 60 days
beyond the term of the loan,

A lender may not extend a new
loan or refinance an existing loan
without new underwriting.

If a borrower has been delinquent,
a lender is prohibited from
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Short-Term Covered Loans

Longer-Term Covered Loans

period between loans (with an
exception): A lender must wait at
least 60 days after a borrower pays
off their prior short-term covered
loan before extending a new short-
ferm covered loan to that
borrower, unless the lender can
document that the borrower’s
financial circumstances have
improved enough to repay a new
loan without re-borrowing.

Minimum 60-day cooling off
period between loans (no
exception): After three successive
loan with less than 60 days
between them, a lender may not
make a new short-term loan to the

same borrower for at least 60 days.

refinancing that borrower info
another loan with similar terms,
without documentation that the
borrower’s financial situation has
improved enough to allow that
borrower to afford the new loan.

60-day cooling off period
following a longer-term loan with
a balloon payment: A lender must
wait 60 days before extending
credit to a prior borrower, unless
the lender can document that the
borrower’s financial circumstances
have improved enough to repay the
new loan without re-borrowing.
After three loans in a row with less
than 60 days in between them, a
lender may not make a new loan to
the same borrower for 60 days.

Debt Trap Protection

Available only for the following

This option is available only for

loans: Joan amount must be $500

loans with durations between 45

or less, loan term must be 45 days

days and six months, Lenders

or less, no more than one finance

making longer-term covered loang

charge mav be imposed, and a
borrower’s vehicle may not be

with durations ereater than six
months must comply with the debt

used as collateral. Lenders making

irap prevention requirements

short-term covered loans that do

above,

not meet these criteria must
comply with the debt trap
prevention requirements above,

For loans that do meet the

Limitations on repeat borrowing:

eligibility criteria for the debt trap
protection option, two alternatives

.| are available,

If all the criteria above are met, a
lender will have to verify a
borrower’s income and borrowing
history; and, before extending a
new loan to that borrower, ensure
that the borrower does not already

Under the first (so-called NCUA-
type) alternative, the loan principal
must be between $200 and $1.000,
the application fee is capped at
$20, the interest rate is capped at

have a covered loan outstanding

28%, the loan must be fully

with any lender; ensure that the
new loan will not result in the
borrower having faken out more
than three short-term covered

amortizing over at least two
payments, the lender must verify a
borrower’s income and
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Short-Term Covered Loans

Longer-Term Covered Loans

loans in sequence, with less than
60 days between loans; ensure that
the new loan will not result in a
borrower receiving more than six
covered short-term loans from any

use of the loan to all applicable
commercially available reporting
systems, and, before extending a
new loan, must verify that the
borrower does not have any other

lender in a rolling 12-month
period; and ensure that, following

outstanding covered loans, and
ensure that the new loan will not

completion of the contractual logn

result in a borrower having more

term, the borrower will not have
been in debt on covered shori-term

than two of these types of loans in
a rolling six- month period.

loans for more than 90 days in the
ageregate during a rolling 12-

month period.

In addition to those requirements,
a lender that wants to extend a
shori-term covered loanto a
borrower who previously obtained
a short-term covered loan within

Under the second alternative, the
lender must verify the borrower’s
income and borrowing history,
report use of the loan to all
applicable commercially available
reporting systems, and, before
extending a new loan, ensure that
loan payments will not exceed 5%

the prior 60 days will have to
choose between two different
options aimed at offering
borrowers an affordable way out

of the borrower’s gross monthly
income, verify that the borrower
does not have any other
outstanding covered loans, and

of their short-term debt.

Under the first option, the lender
will have to reduce the principal
amount of each subsequent loan
over the course of a three-loan
sequence (e.g., $300, $200, $100).

Under the second option, the
lender will have to provide a
borrower unable to repay his or
her third loan according to its
terms with a no-cost loan
extension, which allows the
borrower four additional
installments in which to repay the
loan, without incurring additional
cost. If this option is selected, the
lender may not extend any
additional credit to the borrower
for at least 60 days following
repayment of the third loan.

ensure that the new loan will not
result in a borrower having more
than two of these types of loans in
a rolling twelve- month period.
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Short-Term Covered Loans

Longer-Term Covered Loans

Borrower Notification
Before Accessing
Deposit Accounts

A lender must provide each of its
borrowers with three business
days’ advance notice before
submitting a transaction to the
borrower’s bank, credit union, or
prepaid account for payment.

A lender must provide each of its
borrowers with three business
days’ advance notice before
submitting a transaction to the
borrower’s bank, credit union, or
prepaid account for payment.

Limit Unsuccessful
Withdrawal Attempts

A lender may not malke any more
than two unsuccessful attempts to
collect money from a borrower’s
account. Before a lender may
attempt to collect money from that
account a third time, the borrower
would have to provide new
authorization to that lender.

A lender may not make any more
than two unsuccessful attempts fo
collect money from a borrower’s
account. Before a lender may
attempt to collect money from that
account a third time, the borrower
would have to provide new
authorization to that lender.

COMPARISON OF CALIFORNIA LAW AND THE PROPOSALS

CDDTL (Payday Loan Law): The short-term covered loan proposal will have its greatest impact

in California under our payday loan law. Generally speaking, and as discussed below, none of
the requirements of the short-term covered loan proposal are already present in California law.

s The debt trap prevention option requires underwriting to defermine a borrower’s ability to
repay (not required under California’s payday loan law), prohibits the extension of a
‘short-term covered loan to any borrower with an outstanding, short-term covered loan
from any lender (California’s law prohibits the same lender from extending more than
one payday loan to a borrower with a payday loan outstanding, but California’s regulator
does not apply this prohibition across multiple lenders, as is contemplated by the CFPB),
and limits the frequency with which short-term loans can be extended to borrowers that
obtained a prior short-term loan during the recent past (California’s law lacks any
restrictions around lending frequency).

s The debt trap protection option is available dnly for loans that are less than $500, shorter

than 45 days, and include only one finance charge. These criteria are consistent with
California’s payday loan law, which caps the maximum face value of a check that may be
presented by a borrower at $300, caps the maximum length of a loan at 30 days, and
allows only one finance charge, equal to $15 per $100 borrowed. Thus, California
licensed payday lenders would be eligible to use the debt trap protection option, if they

wish,

Any lender wishing to use the debt trap protection option for its short-term covered loan
will need to verify a borrower’s income and borrowing history (not required under
California law), ensure that a borrower seeking a short-term covered loan does not have
another short-term loan outstanding from any lender (California’s law prohibits the same
lender from extending more than one payday loan to a borrower with a payday loan
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outstanding, but California’s regulator does not apply this prohibition across multiple
lenders, as is contemplated by the CFPB proposal), limit the frequency of repeat loans by
the same borrower (California law lacks any restrictions around lending frequency), and
following three consecutive loans, offer borrowers an affordable way out of debt
(California law lacks special rules for borrowers who have taken out consecutive loans).

The borrower notification requirements and cap on successive unsuccessful attempts to
debit an account also represent new requirements, relative to existing California law.
California’s payday loan law does not require lenders to notify borrowers before debiting
the borrowers’ accounts, nor does it limit the number of repeated, unsuccessful attempts
to debit an account.

CFLL (Installment Loan Law): The longer-term covered loan proposal will have its greatest

impact in California under our Finance Lenders Law,

The CFPB longer-term loan proposal will have little impact on installment loans made in
California in amounts below $2.500. With one exception (the Pilot Program for
Increased Access to Responsible Small-Dollar Loans; pilot program), the CFLL caps
interest rates and fees on installment loans with principal amounts below $2,500 at levels
below 36% APR. The longer-term covered loan proposal applies to installment loans
greater than 45 days in length, whose “all-in” APR exceeds 36%. Thus, the CFPB
proposal is unlikely to impact the general provisions of the CFLL that apply to loan
amounts below $2,500,

The pilot program does allow for interest rates and fees that can result in an all-in APR in
excess of 36%. Depending upon the amount borrowed and the loan length, some pilot
program loans do exceed 36% APR; others are below this threshold. Some pilot program
lenders do not access their customer’s deposit accounts; others do, and could therefore be
covered by the CFPB proposal. However, because the pilot program requires rigorous
underwriting to evaluate borrowers’ ability to repay their loans and limits the frequency
with which pilot program loans may be refinanced, it appears that compliance with pilot
program rules will automatically place a pilot program lender into compliance with the
debt trap prevention rules for longer-term loans.

The only arcas where changes to the pilot program rules may be necessary-to conform to
the CFPB proposal lie in the areas of borrower notification prior to a collection attempt
and limitation on the number of successive collection attempts made. The pilot program
requires that borrowers be given a reminder about their next payment two days prior to
that payment (rather than three, as proposed by CFPB). Furthermore, the pilot program
does not cap the number of times a lender may attempt to debit a borrower’s account to
collect a payment, if the first attempt is unsuccessful.

In contrast, the CFPB’s longer-term covered loan proposal will have a significant impact
on installment loans made in California in amounts of $2,500 or more, because none of
the requirements of that proposal are contained in California law, For example, the
CFLL does not cap interest rates on installment loans with principal amounts of $2,500 or
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more, require these loans to be rigorously underwritten, limit the frequency with which
these loans can be made or refinanced, require lenders to notify borrowers before
accessing their accounts, or limit the number of unsuccessful attempts to debit a
borrower’s account.

Although Section 1452 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations references the
need for finance lenders to take into consideration the ability of borrowers to repay their
loans according to their terms, that regulation is quite vague; it requires finance lenders to
“take into consideration, in determining the size and duration thereof, the financial ability
of the borrowers to repay the same, to the end that the borrowers should be reasonably to
repay said loans in the time and manner provided in the loan contracts.”

NEXT STEPS

The document released by the CFPB on March 26™ is an outline of a proposal; it is not a
proposed regulation. Before the CEPB can issue its proposed regulation, it must solicit input
from small business representatives regarding the potential impact of its rule on small businesses.
The Small Business Regulatory Enforcement Fairness Act (SBREFA) requires the CFPB to
convene a Small Business Review Panel when it is considering a proposed rule that could have a
significant economic impact on a substantial number of small entities. The Dodd-Frank Wall
Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act further requires the CFPB to collect advice and
recommendations from small businesses and non-profits on whether any of its proposals are
likely to increase the cost of credit for small business lenders and to solicit idea for alternative

* approaches that would minimize any such increases. The proposals released by the CFPB on
March 26" were intended to provide necessary background to facilitate the Small Business
Review Panel process,

The SBREFA Small Business Review Panel held a meeting on Wednesday, April 29™, 2015 to
discuss the CFPB’s March 26" outline. Within 60 days following that meeting, the Panel is
required to complete a report for submission to the CFPB. The Bureau is required to consider
the Panel’s report as it prepares its proposed regulations.

The CFPB will also be considering feedback from several other entities when developing its
proposed regulations. In its March 26™ relcase, the CFPB indicated that it is also consulting
with other federal agencies, as well as tribal governments, and is seeking feedback from a wide
range of other stakeholders on the proposals under consideration.” Witness testimony provided
during this Committee’s May 6™ hearing will offer the CFPB some of the feedback it is seeking.

Once published in the Federal Register, likely sometime later this year, the CFPB’s proposed
regulations will be subject to a formal public comment process. Final regulations will follow,
once public input on the proposed regulations has been considered. When it issues its final
regulations, the CI'PB expects to provide businesses covered by the regulations with some period
of time in which to implement the new rules, before they will be enforced. Given this timeline,
the issuance of proposed regulations is likely sometime during 2015, and issuance of final
regulations is likely to follow during 2016,
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THE ROLE OF THE CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

Members of the California Legislature may provide comments to the CFPB at multiple stages in
the CFPB’s rulemaking process. However, once the CFPB finalizes its regulations, those rules
will apply in all fifty states. Where existing state law is more protective of consumers than the
CFPB regulations, state law will govern. Where the CFPB regulations are more protective of
consumers than state law, the CFPB regulations will govern. '

Once the CFPB regulations are finalized, the Legislature will have to decide whether to update
the Deferred Deposit Transactions Law and Finance Lenders Law. Doing so will likely
minimize confusion about what protections are available to California borrowers and what rules
apply to California licensed lenders. Updating California law will also clarify the authority of
the Commissioner of the Department of Business Oversight to enforce the new rules in
California.

However, revising and updating the Deferred Deposit Transaction Law and Finance Lenders
Law is likely to spark fierce debate over the extent of the revisions. Some will likely argue for
simple conformity with the federal regulations. Others are likely to argue that California should
go beyond the federal regulations, and ensure that our laws are more protective of consumers
than what is required by the CFPB. These debates are likely to begin later this year and continue
through 2016, perhaps beyond.
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